Why were my shared links or files requests banned in Dropbox ?
If your shared links or file requests have stopped working, and you’ve ruled out other causes, they may have been banned because of too much traffic. When your shared links are banned, you can’t share them, but the files are still available to you in your Dropbox. When your file requests are banned, people will not be able to upload files to your file request.
Links and file requests are automatically banned if they generate unusually large amounts of traffic.
Dropbox Basic (free) accounts:
- The total amount of traffic that all of your links and file requests together can generate without getting banned is 20 GB per day.
- The total number of downloads that all of your links together can generate is 100,000 downloads per day.
Dropbox Pro and Dropbox for Business accounts:
- The total amount of traffic that all of your links and file requests together can generate without getting banned is about 200 GB per day.
- There’s no daily limit to the number of downloads that your links can generate.
If your account hits our limit, we’ll send a message to the email address registered to your account. Your links will be temporarily disabled, and anyone who tries to access them will see an error page instead of your files.
But there’s no way my links generated that much traffic!
Even with a traffic limit of 20 GB or about 200 GB per day, or 100,000 downloads per day, it’s entirely possible for links to go over the limit. Let’s say you’ve sent a link to a file to a small number of people. One of the recipients could have sent the link to others, leading to more people viewing the file and using up the allotted traffic. Or one of the recipients could have downloaded the file multiple times; each download is counted separately for tracking purposes. If you publish your link on social media, it may quickly spread to a very large audience with or without your knowledge.